Havana Province

La Habana Province was divided in two new provinces, Artemisa and Mayabeque on January 1, 2011. With the exception of being the home of the city of La Habana, by far the most cosmopolitan of Caribbean cities, the province was primarily agricultural.  It bordered Pinar del Rio and Matanzas, and had both south and north coasts with dozens of towns and small cities. Most of the agricultural production was geared toward food and it there was also significant industrialization, electric plants and sugar mills throughout the province.  Present day La Habana is the city itself and the immediate surroundings from Mariel Harbor to the west and the beach towns of “Playas del Este” to the east.  There is a certain enchantment about La Habana, both the urban and provincial; her man-made as well as natural beauty are equally impressive and engaging.